The Susan B. Anthony Preservation District is also home to many historic industrial buildings. Canal, Litchfield, and Wiley Street are characterized by two-, four-, and fivestory brick buildings, creating a compact urban neighborhood streetscape.
James Cunningham, an Irish immigrant, established his luxury carriage factory on State Street in 1838. Ten years later, in 1848, he purchased property on the west side of Canal Street, adjacent to the Erie and Genesee Valley Canals. The location, with its immediate access to the waterways used for shipping and freight, was ideal.
The Genesee Valley Canal ran parallel to Canal Street and connected here to the Erie Canal, which ran where Broad Street is now. The Ohio Boat Basin was located in the midst of what is now Morse Lumber Company. Three railroads converged within a few hundred yards.
By 1875, James Cunningham, Son & Co. expanded to several locations, including 7 Canal Street, 13 to 25 Canal Street, and 37 Canal Street.